Using Postimage for screencomp entries (and elsewhere)

Post and comment on screen captures from the beautiful game here. Home of the monthly screenshot competition

Using Postimage for screencomp entries (and elsewhere)

Postby Adamski » Sat May 12, 2018 2:39 pm

Here are some instructions for people wishing to use Postimage for their screenshot entries.

Postimage appears to automatically re-sample images over 1280px wide - BEWARE - always pre-size and save your images locally at 1280px before uploading.

Here are the four main options on Postimage links (use the 4th one):

1) Link:
https://postimg.cc/image/464rkeayh/
Goes to that image on a Postimage page - with Postimage navigation etc.

2) Direct link:
https://s20.postimg.cc/82i3gdvy5/naval_ ... 8_1280.jpg
Goes to that image on Postimage - image only.

3) Thumbnail for forums:
Image
Goes to that image on a Postimage page - with Postimage navigation etc.

4) Hotlink for forums:
Image
Links to Postimage HOME screen.

To embed the image without the link,simply strip the URL tags ...
Code: Select all
[url=https://postimages.org/][img]https://s20.postimg.cc/82i3gdvy5/naval_a06_fury_558_1280.jpg[/img][/url]


... to give:
Code: Select all
[img]https://s20.postimg.cc/82i3gdvy5/naval_a06_fury_558_1280.jpg[/img]

Here's the embedded image as it should appear in the screencomp topic:

Image



However - for images 1350px or larger (topics outside the screencomp) - this is where the resampling kicks in. This original is 1350px * 612px.
Code: Select all
[img]https://s20.postimg.cc/mzqkhf41p/naval_a06_fury_558_1350.jpg[/img]


Image
Note that it's the wrong size - and is often re-sampled to a lower quality (see the artefacts around the tailwheel).

View your image in Postimage, then right mouse click on the "Download original image" link and use the "Copy Link Location" function to grab the URL of the image ...
Code: Select all
https://s20.postimg.cc/cbrewied7/naval_fury_558_1350.jpg?dl=1

Strip off the "?dl=1" ... which should give you:

Image

Adam.
User avatar
Adamski
NZFF Pro
 
Topic author
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 2:22 am
Posts: 4811
Location: Birkenhead, Auckland

Re: Using Postimage for screencomp entries (and elsewhere)

Postby Splitpin » Sat May 12, 2018 8:27 pm

Thanks Adam .. but I must be honest, it's bloody complicated (for me at least) :unsure:
User avatar
Splitpin
NZFF Pro
 
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2009 12:15 pm
Posts: 19973
Location: Christchurch NZ

Re: Using Postimage for screencomp entries (and elsewhere)

Postby toprob » Sat May 12, 2018 8:56 pm

I know I keep going on about this, but really it has made my life a lot simpler. Just installthe Postimage desktop app, and adding an image to a post is as simple as right-clicking the image (in Windows Explorer), 'Send to | Postimage', press the URL copy button, and paste it into your post. Add the image tags as usual. Takes 5 clicks.

Sure, you need to install the app first, and I'd recommend adding your account details to it to organise your uploads. This takes a few more steps but you only do it once. You do this by getting an API key from the Postimage site, and pasting it into the settings/account box. Here's the box, although I've blocked out my API.

Image

By the way, I used Postimage to make and upload that settings screenshot, I just pressed Alt-prtscn (Alt to automatically copy the window only), Postimage then displays the result and lets me add annotations etc such as the red box, and then I press the upload button. Again, so simple.
User avatar
toprob
NZFF Pro
 
Joined: Sat Apr 29, 2006 4:56 pm
Posts: 6485
Location: Upper Hutt

Re: Using Postimage for screencomp entries (and elsewhere)

Postby toprob » Sat May 12, 2018 9:30 pm

Something I forgot to mention -- yes, Postimage will resize your big screenshots to 1280x(?), with a resulting drop in quality, and serve that as the 'full-sized' image, but it does keep the original. It just takes a bit more work to display it at the proper size, as shown by Adam. To overcome this I normally resize to 1280x first, but then again I just about live in PhotoShop, so it is simple for me. I'm aware that not everyone is keen to edit images.
I use a slightly different method to get the full-sized image URL, by clicking on 'zoom', then right-click | copy image location, but I think this is Firefox-specific.
User avatar
toprob
NZFF Pro
 
Joined: Sat Apr 29, 2006 4:56 pm
Posts: 6485
Location: Upper Hutt

Re: Using Postimage for screencomp entries (and elsewhere)

Postby Adamski » Sun May 13, 2018 12:06 am

Thanks, Rob - yes, I've used the app as well. It's really quite slick. One handy hint though (which I discovered by accident): If you create/name folders on your local system, the app will automatically upload them to a corresponding (similarly named) gallery on the site. I couldn't see an easy way of moving pics from one gallery to another, so it's quite handy that they at least go somewhere half sensible to begin with.
Image
User avatar
Adamski
NZFF Pro
 
Topic author
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 2:22 am
Posts: 4811
Location: Birkenhead, Auckland

Re: Using Postimage for screencomp entries (and elsewhere)

Postby emfrat » Tue Jun 12, 2018 8:50 pm

If you have posts with older PostImage links, which are no longer showing where they should, it is because an update a couple of months back changed the link urls from PostImage.org to PostImage.cc
You just need to login to the forum and edit your post, to fix the link.
Don't do what I did and use "Quote" to see the link coding and change that...it created a brand-new duplicate post with today's date :wub: which I have since deleted :whoops:

Of course, if you just want to see the Image, you can use 'Quote' to show the code and edit the url, but that will not reset my original post - so if you strike one of mine missing , let me know and I will fix the original.

Everyone not here, put your hand up !! :wacko:
MikeW
'Propliner' is actually short for 'Proper airliner, with big rumbly radials'

Image
User avatar
emfrat
NZFF Pro
 
Joined: Sat May 07, 2011 7:41 pm
Posts: 3762
Location: 50 DME YBBN

Re: Using Postimage for screencomp entries (and elsewhere)

Postby Adamski » Fri Jun 22, 2018 12:21 am

I've found that I can persuade Google Drive to display a pic ... but it's a little complicated.

Image

You have to view the image then use Firefox (or similar) and get the image URL by viewing the page info. You get a URL that looks a bit like this:

Code: Select all
https://lh6.googleusercontent.com/bmZ_r0WA4Qv_VJH32Zde1-Kggq1pH3zS1G25cJw_roWQAIBMzLSKY1539xjSA4rY5Um_t1Z58kfEjcdRpqFx=w1920-h925

... to which you then add the img tags/pair.

Code: Select all
[img]https://lh6.googleusercontent.com/bmZ_r0WA4Qv_VJH32Zde1-Kggq1pH3zS1G25cJw_roWQAIBMzLSKY1539xjSA4rY5Um_t1Z58kfEjcdRpqFx=w1920-h925[/img]

Adam.
Image
User avatar
Adamski
NZFF Pro
 
Topic author
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 2:22 am
Posts: 4811
Location: Birkenhead, Auckland


Return to Screenshots

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 22 guests