Add On Scenery

An area to discuss scenery addons for virtual NZ

Add On Scenery

Postby bobby48w » Mon Dec 11, 2017 8:18 am

Installed FSX on a friends computer with service packs 1 & 2 . Running well. Installed VLC no problem all working okay there. Installed some add on sceneries and activated in scenery library above VLC . Ticked in the square box but they do not overwrite the default scenery. Example Riddlez NZNP a self install shows some sheep in the paddock , a parking lot and some bushes, no terminal or other objects. NZ Taranaki no N.P. port or chimney in fact nothing recognizeable. Again does`nt seem to have overwritten the default. I am experienced at adding sceneries to the library and have followed the correct procedure. I am baffled as to why these add ons are not being recognized. Anybody have a clue as to what`s going on here please? :unsure:
User avatar
bobby48w
Member
 
Topic author
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 12:52 pm
Posts: 62
Location: New Plymouth, Taranaki

Re: Add On Scenery

Postby jpreou » Mon Dec 11, 2017 12:59 pm

Been a long time off FSX, but wasn't there a bug for some sceneries where you had to select the parent folder to add them? Or select them, then go "back up" a folder level... dunno, something like that. All I can offer I'm afraid; been off any sim for a long time and my memory isn't that good evening if I did something 10 minutes ago! :)
-- Jeff, Rolleston, NZ
P3Dv4.x and a bunch of add-on stuff... some 'global' products, but otherwise NZ-only
jpreou
Forum Addict
 
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2012 1:21 pm
Posts: 296
Location: Rolleston, NZ

Re: Add On Scenery

Postby bobby48w » Mon Dec 11, 2017 2:08 pm

Hi Jeff, No that`s not the problem but thank`s for your reply. I have followed through the correct procedure for activating the scenery. BOB.
User avatar
bobby48w
Member
 
Topic author
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 12:52 pm
Posts: 62
Location: New Plymouth, Taranaki

Re: Add On Scenery

Postby emfrat » Mon Dec 11, 2017 3:20 pm

Sounds like you are missing the VLC Libraries, and possibly the VLC Airfields as well.
Hope this helps :unsure:
MikeW
'Propliner' is actually short for 'Proper airliner, with big rumbly radials'

Image
Image
User avatar
emfrat
NZFF Pro
 
Joined: Sat May 07, 2011 7:41 pm
Posts: 2442
Location: 50 DME YBBN

Re: Add On Scenery

Postby bobby48w » Mon Dec 11, 2017 3:38 pm

Thank you for your reply. VLC installed correctly as stated . Sim does not need VLC Libraries or Airfields installed to install other add on sceneries so that is not the problem Mike.
User avatar
bobby48w
Member
 
Topic author
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 12:52 pm
Posts: 62
Location: New Plymouth, Taranaki

Re: Add On Scenery

Postby emfrat » Mon Dec 11, 2017 3:41 pm

:cheers:
MikeW
'Propliner' is actually short for 'Proper airliner, with big rumbly radials'

Image
Image
User avatar
emfrat
NZFF Pro
 
Joined: Sat May 07, 2011 7:41 pm
Posts: 2442
Location: 50 DME YBBN

Re: Add On Scenery

Postby toprob » Mon Dec 11, 2017 3:54 pm

Silly question -- is the scenery density greater than 'sparse'?
Image
OnlineUser avatar
toprob
NZFF Pro
 
Joined: Sat Apr 29, 2006 4:56 pm
Posts: 5390
Location: Diamond Harbour

Re: Add On Scenery

Postby Radar88 » Mon Dec 11, 2017 5:50 pm

Hi Bob

If you've downloaded the Riddlez NZNP .exe installer from

http://www.riddlezinteractive.com/sim/nznp

And run the installer.

It will automatically create a Folder called Riddlez within the Main FSX directory.

You might need to check where the installer installed the Riddlez Folder.

Within the Riddlez folder you will find the following directory name NZ New Plymouth Airport NZNP 2016 and the uninstaller uninst-Rid-New_Plymouth_FSX.exe

Within the NZ New Plymouth Airport NZNP 2016 folder you will find the Scenery and Texture folders.

You can either choose to move the NZ New Plymouth Airport NZNP 2016 folder from the Riddlez folder and Move To the Addon Scenery folder and activated from here in the Add On scenery library with the the directory path

FSX\Addon Scenery\NZ New Plymouth Airport NZNP 2016\Scenery

Or go to the FSX Settings Scenery Library and Add Area from the directory path for the main FSX\Riddlez\NZ New Plymouth Airport NZNP 2016\Scenery

This works in much the same way as other developers such as Godzone, Orbx, VLC all have there Auto Installer Directories in the Main FSX folder outside the Add On Scenery Folder.

If you have the older Riddlez version Folder "NZ New Plymouth Airport Scenery 2013" in the the Add On Scenery folder you will need to either Remove or Disable this from the Add On Scenery or perhaps check to see if you have some other form of conflicting NZNP ????.bgl files possibly located in another scenery directory somewhere.
Radar88
Member
 
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2015 2:32 pm
Posts: 55

Re: Add On Scenery

Postby bobby48w » Mon Dec 11, 2017 6:37 pm

toprob wrote:Silly question -- is the scenery density greater than 'sparse'?


Indeed no Robin not a silly question. I must confess I have not even looked at any of the settings yet. They are all on default so that`s worth a try anyway. I will get back to my friends computer in a few days time and check it out and adjust the settings to the same level as my own and see what happens. Bob.
User avatar
bobby48w
Member
 
Topic author
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 12:52 pm
Posts: 62
Location: New Plymouth, Taranaki

Re: Add On Scenery

Postby bobby48w » Mon Dec 11, 2017 6:48 pm

Radar88 wrote:Hi Bob



If you have the older Riddlez version Folder "NZ New Plymouth Airport Scenery 2013" in the the Add On Scenery folder you will need to either Remove or Disable this from the Add On Scenery or perhaps check to see if you have some other form of conflicting NZNP ????.bgl files possibly located in another scenery directory somewhere.


Yes Radar , Have installed the NZNP scenery from the Riddlez site and done all that you have suggested. I do have the old Riddlez version installed on my own computer but not on my friends. His was a clean install of FSX with no add on scenery . See Robin`s post and my reply to him. I think that should be my next step. Have to wait a few days though as I am pretty busy at the moment.
User avatar
bobby48w
Member
 
Topic author
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 12:52 pm
Posts: 62
Location: New Plymouth, Taranaki

Re: Add On Scenery

Postby bobby48w » Wed Dec 13, 2017 3:41 pm

toprob wrote:Silly question -- is the scenery density greater than 'sparse'?



As I said in my previous post Robin "Not a silly question". It worked a treat. I set the scenery settings to the same as they are in my FSX program. My friend and I are now very happy. Just goes to show what a bit of knowledge from an expert such as yourself can do. Although must say that I should have thought that out for myself as I am not a novice in FSX matters. Thanks a heap. Bob. :thumbup:
User avatar
bobby48w
Member
 
Topic author
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 12:52 pm
Posts: 62
Location: New Plymouth, Taranaki

Re: Add On Scenery

Postby Riddlez » Thu Dec 14, 2017 6:56 pm

Hi Bob,
Glad you got it sorted! Sorry I didn't see this post earlier.
I try and make the sceneries work on Sparse and above for all objects placed. I must have missed a few objects in the placement which may have been set above Sparse. I'll have a look into it!

Cheers
Che
Riddlez
Member
 
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 2:01 am
Posts: 128
Location: The Naki


Return to Scenery

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest