for those that asked about motion Blur ( how to )

Post and comment on screen captures from the beautiful game here. Home of the monthly screenshot competition

Postby brendan » Fri Feb 25, 2011 1:15 am

Ok I use Photoshop, but once ya get the jist you should be able to use any paint programme.


Step 1 * Take ya screenshot

Step 2 * Resize image to 1080 pixals
It smooths the original image





Step 3 * Sharpen once



Step 4 * Take the manual mask tool and mask around the plane only



Step 5 * Click edit then copy



Step 6 * Now click select then Deselect ( this gets rid of the mask around the plane )



Step 7 * Go to filter and click blur then motion blur



Now change motion blur to 23%, it's on 11% here but 23% seems to be the best for keeping the scenery relatively viewable ( the more blur percentage, the faster it looks ( up to you really )



RIGHTO nearly there 2 more steps!!

Step 8 * Now go to edit at the top and click paste, you should have the CLEAR copy of the cutout pasted in



Step 9 * Now click on your main tool , left click over the cutout and hold the button and move it into postion over the blurred one and ya done!!





And thats all there is too it LOL , once ya familiar with the tools ya can do this from step 1 to 10 in about 2 minutes.
Hope that helps guys , have fun , I reckon it really brings them to life.
Brendan.
Last edited by brendan on Fri Feb 25, 2011 1:27 am, edited 1 time in total.
Image
brendan
Member
 
Topic author
Joined: Fri Sep 24, 2010 2:12 am
Posts: 108
Location: Born in Invercargill, live in Aus.

Postby AndrewJamez » Fri Feb 25, 2011 9:37 am

Thanks for that. I have the corel paint shop but I 'm sure it is a similar process.
AndrewJamez
Sim-holic
 
Joined: Sun Feb 14, 2010 5:04 pm
Posts: 766
Location: Hamilton

Postby AndrewJamez » Fri Feb 25, 2011 12:16 pm

I tryed that sequence with the pic i entered and apart form the different names it was pretty much the same. Only prob is that if the plane has terrain behind it, you have to get real close with your cutting or it stands out a mile away.
AndrewJamez
Sim-holic
 
Joined: Sun Feb 14, 2010 5:04 pm
Posts: 766
Location: Hamilton

Postby Dion500 » Fri Feb 25, 2011 1:50 pm

If you have to, you can use that magnet select tool or what ever its called haha (im no pro at photoshop)
That should stick to the aircraft's image pretty well if you have to get that close. Only problem i found with that is when you get to the prop, it doesnt really like to stick round the edge of that very well.

I love this motion blur stuff, iv had a play with a few of mine. Makes the plane almost jump out at you, an almost 3D look, great stuff.
"There is an art, or rather a knack to flying. The knack lies in learning how to throw yourself at the ground and miss."
User avatar
Dion500
Member
 
Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2010 8:24 pm
Posts: 86
Location: New Plymouth

Postby deaneb » Fri Feb 25, 2011 2:28 pm

AndrewJamez wrote:
QUOTE (AndrewJamez @ Feb 25 2011, 01:16 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Only prob is that if the plane has terrain behind it, you have to get real close with your cutting or it stands out a mile away.


You should be able to use the selection tool with a feathered edge option, which prevents the hash cut edges to prevent that problem. I have that option in Paint Shop Pro, but I'm sure Photoshop can do the same.
Last edited by deaneb on Sat Feb 26, 2011 1:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image
User avatar
deaneb
Senior Member
 
Joined: Sat Aug 12, 2006 4:40 pm
Posts: 1302
Location: Blenheim

Postby brendan » Fri Feb 25, 2011 10:10 pm

Yeah guys , sorry forgot a step LOL ( i knew it was going to happen)

after you paste the cutout on , use the blur tool and slowly go over the edges of the cut out to blur it into the background.

glad ya giving it a try!
Image
brendan
Member
 
Topic author
Joined: Fri Sep 24, 2010 2:12 am
Posts: 108
Location: Born in Invercargill, live in Aus.

Postby Ian Warren » Fri Feb 25, 2011 10:52 pm

Brendan biggrin.gif , good reply and tutorial , be a great help to all new shot screen punters , cheers mate smile.gif
Last edited by Ian Warren on Fri Feb 25, 2011 10:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image
User avatar
Ian Warren
NZFF Pro
 
Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 5:23 pm
Posts: 41205
Location: AREA 51

Postby Dean » Sat Feb 26, 2011 2:48 am

Good tutorial! I use Photoshop regularly, but never really looked at or used the motion blur tool before. You have encouraged me to give it a go! Thanks.
Image
Dean Bielanowski
Manager - PC Aviator Australia
The Flight Simulation Company!
Retailing Sim DVD Software, Downloads, Hardware and Accessories
Online Store: http://www.pcaviator.com.au/store
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Dean
Sim-holic
 
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2011 1:54 am
Posts: 576
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Postby AlisterC » Sat Feb 26, 2011 9:44 am

Thanks for putting this together, very useful! smile.gif
Image
User avatar
AlisterC
NZFF Pro
 
Joined: Thu Jul 20, 2006 11:13 am
Posts: 2536
Location: Nelson, NZ

Postby Splitpin » Thu Mar 31, 2011 10:54 am

Great post Big B......Sorry i took so long to find it.Maybe there should be a "how to" page on the forum.....a place to share the skills.
Thanks again .... thumbup1.gif thumbup1.gif
User avatar
Splitpin
NZFF Pro
 
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2009 12:15 pm
Posts: 15985
Location: Christchurch NZ

Postby wairoaboy » Fri Apr 01, 2011 5:18 pm

brendan wrote:
QUOTE (brendan @ Feb 25 2011,2:15 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Ok I use Photoshop, but once ya get the jist you should be able to use any paint programme.


Step 1 * Take ya screenshot

Step 2 * Resize image to 1080 pixals
It smooths the original image





Step 3 * Sharpen once



Step 4 * Take the manual mask tool and mask around the plane only



Step 5 * Click edit then copy



Step 6 * Now click select then Deselect ( this gets rid of the mask around the plane )



Step 7 * Go to filter and click blur then motion blur



Now change motion blur to 23%, it's on 11% here but 23% seems to be the best for keeping the scenery relatively viewable ( the more blur percentage, the faster it looks ( up to you really )



RIGHTO nearly there 2 more steps!!

Step 8 * Now go to edit at the top and click paste, you should have the CLEAR copy of the cutout pasted in



Step 9 * Now click on your main tool , left click over the cutout and hold the button and move it into postion over the blurred one and ya done!!





And thats all there is too it LOL , once ya familiar with the tools ya can do this from step 1 to 10 in about 2 minutes.
Hope that helps guys , have fun , I reckon it really brings them to life.
Brendan.

A bit beyond this 'bushboy' layman....
Thermaltake Level 10 GT Fullsize Tower
x3 27 inch Surround Asus ROG G-Sync Monitor
ASUS Extreme iv ROG
Intel i7 2600K 4.6ghz
EVGA GTX780ti Classified
EVGA 1600watt Supernova PSU
Corsair H100i Cooling
32gb Ripsaw RAM 2133
Logitech G940 Joystick Throttles Rudder
Logitech Z623 IHX Speakers
User avatar
wairoaboy
Member
 
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2009 11:28 pm
Posts: 118
Location: Rotorua/Wairoa

Postby eXup » Tue Jul 22, 2014 8:11 pm

Thanks you helped me out here , I tried this today and it looked pretty good.
eXup
Newbie
 
Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2014 7:11 pm
Posts: 1


Return to Screenshots

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests