My desktop

Post and comment on screen captures from the beautiful game here. Home of the monthly screenshot competition

Re: My desktop

Postby toprob » Sun Apr 14, 2019 9:22 pm

This is one of the desktop shots which are there to remind me to fix something... the ad for the Galaxy Note really needs to be replaced, the Note 8 is already obsolete:)

Image
User avatar
toprob
NZFF Pro
 
Topic author
Joined: Sat Apr 29, 2006 4:56 pm
Posts: 5772
Location: Diamond Harbour

Re: My desktop

Postby jpreou » Mon Apr 15, 2019 7:38 am

New premium tech ... setup a cam looking at the real ad - update in real time. People would pay extra for that ;)
-- Jeff, Rolleston, NZ
P3Dv4.x and a bunch of add-on stuff... some 'global' products, but otherwise NZ-only
jpreou
Forum Addict
 
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2012 1:21 pm
Posts: 385
Location: Rolleston, NZ

Re: My desktop

Postby toprob » Mon Apr 15, 2019 1:46 pm

At the end of the carpark building there's actually a 16 metre wide video screen, and another by the round-about. Prepar3d has all the tools you'd need to show animated ads etc, although that isn't on my todo list. Maybe one day.
It would also be very possible to automatically update texture using some sort of online tool. Again, not really my area, but if anyone really wants to build this, let me know:)
I can remember back in the old days, someone devised a method to stream HTML pages to FSX textures, including video....
User avatar
toprob
NZFF Pro
 
Topic author
Joined: Sat Apr 29, 2006 4:56 pm
Posts: 5772
Location: Diamond Harbour

Re: My desktop

Postby Adamski » Mon Apr 15, 2019 2:38 pm

Looking good, Rob! Any plans to support X-Plane? :ph43r: :ph43r: :ph43r:
Image
User avatar
Adamski
NZFF Pro
 
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 2:22 am
Posts: 4339
Location: Birkenhead, Auckland

Re: My desktop

Postby toprob » Mon Apr 15, 2019 3:25 pm

There will be an X-plane NZCH, but I'm not sure of the extent at the moment -- Orbx have announced TE NZ, which I assume would include X-plane, so I was planning on doing X-plane airports only. But the timing is bad, so I may have to have a large area of photoscenery, like the Prepar3d version. But ultimately I don't plan to do X-plane photoscenery, just the airports.
User avatar
toprob
NZFF Pro
 
Topic author
Joined: Sat Apr 29, 2006 4:56 pm
Posts: 5772
Location: Diamond Harbour

Re: My desktop

Postby NZ255 » Mon Apr 15, 2019 8:58 pm

Hey Rob, can you post a source for TE NZ? I can’t find one.
I thought the Linz data had some pieces missing? Is this still the case?
Image
User avatar
NZ255
NZFF Pro
 
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2007 12:57 pm
Posts: 2406

Re: My desktop

Postby toprob » Mon Apr 15, 2019 9:11 pm

John's post here.

Yeah, still an issue with the westward side of the Alps, but hopefully not insurmountable.
User avatar
toprob
NZFF Pro
 
Topic author
Joined: Sat Apr 29, 2006 4:56 pm
Posts: 5772
Location: Diamond Harbour

Re: My desktop

Postby Adamski » Mon Apr 15, 2019 11:09 pm

There's a post with an approximate road map:
https://orbxsystems.com/forum/topic/164 ... reenshots/

With NZ being such a tiny slice of the sim market, NZ will never be a really high priority for ORBX, so I doubt very much that we'll see much (True Earth-wise) this year.

Adam.
Image
User avatar
Adamski
NZFF Pro
 
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 2:22 am
Posts: 4339
Location: Birkenhead, Auckland

Re: My desktop

Postby Aharon » Tue Apr 16, 2019 2:22 am

Adamski wrote:With NZ being such a tiny slice of the sim market, NZ will never be a really high priority for ORBX,


That is strange considering the fact ORBX was willing to spend time and energy to do entire island of Tasmania but never showed interest on New Zealand which offered lots of green pastures?

I think I know why I know why I know why!!

Orbx cannot compete with Godzone Virtual's photoreal ground textures :) :)

Regards,

Aharon
Aharon
Sim-holic
 
Joined: Sun Jul 23, 2017 11:39 am
Posts: 599

Re: My desktop

Postby Jeffref » Tue Apr 16, 2019 8:51 am

There is a website in Italy, Weebly, offering photo real NZ I think in 2M resolution. With Godzone added on top there is no need for ORBX. I have removed their land class NZNI and NZSI which is now redundant. I have also created Australia in full at 8M using FSET but my skills are low and it is not up to the same standard. It does however, do the job for me.
Jeffref
Member
 
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2018 8:19 pm
Posts: 21

Re: My desktop

Postby toprob » Sat Apr 20, 2019 2:29 pm

Aharon wrote:
Adamski wrote:With NZ being such a tiny slice of the sim market, NZ will never be a really high priority for ORBX,


That is strange considering the fact ORBX was willing to spend time and energy to do entire island of Tasmania but never showed interest on New Zealand which offered lots of green pastures?

I think I know why I know why I know why!!

Orbx cannot compete with Godzone Virtual's photoreal ground textures :) :)

Regards,

Aharon


Orbx have certainly put a lot of work into NZ, despite the small size. Even after they announced that they'd stop development on NZ airports, they've still managed a couple of very nice releases, and one more on the way. Whether or not they do a TrueEarth NZ is a big question -- they have mentioned it, but the main reason why they would consider it is the cost of photo/data resources -- basically zero. NZ is one of the few countries which supplies all this data under a very good license, at no cost.
But they will also have a very good idea of how it might sell, based on their NZNI/NZSI regions. Add the variable quality of the images available, and the few missing areas, and it might not be a priority. Personally I think it would be a major step forward for NZ, their landclass NZ regions are nice, but not exactly always realistic. It's hard not to have the real NZ with aerial photos... I'd be a big supporter of a TE NZ.

Today's desktop:
Image
User avatar
toprob
NZFF Pro
 
Topic author
Joined: Sat Apr 29, 2006 4:56 pm
Posts: 5772
Location: Diamond Harbour

Re: My desktop

Postby NZ255 » Sat Apr 20, 2019 2:55 pm

Very nicely detailed!
If you’re going to include ‘static’ safedocks, would you consider placing them separately so those with GSX can remove and place working ones?

I don’t know how to word it to not sound rude :)
Image
User avatar
NZ255
NZFF Pro
 
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2007 12:57 pm
Posts: 2406

Re: My desktop

Postby toprob » Sat Apr 20, 2019 3:10 pm

That's GSX in this screenshot. I hadn't even thought of including static versions, only GSX:) However a static option makes sense, as some safedocks are sitting on elaborate supports, which will show up sans actual display if GSX isn't active. I'll think about that. It really seems silly to spend a lot of time on things which a quality addon already supplies, even if it is payware. Those who are really keen should have it already! That doesn't apply to jetways, though, as GSX Level 2 didn't exist when I did most of the NZCH modelling.

Feel free to comment on anything which may help improve things, think of this as an early beta period, and all you have to go on is some screenshots....
User avatar
toprob
NZFF Pro
 
Topic author
Joined: Sat Apr 29, 2006 4:56 pm
Posts: 5772
Location: Diamond Harbour

Re: My desktop

Postby NZ255 » Sat Apr 20, 2019 4:31 pm

Ah, perfect!
No, I think the GSX ones are all you need. Like you said, those that need them will probably have GSX.
Image
User avatar
NZ255
NZFF Pro
 
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2007 12:57 pm
Posts: 2406

Re: My desktop

Postby toprob » Fri Apr 26, 2019 4:13 pm

Here's the dual jetways for Gate 30 -- I think SODE will dock them both, but I don't have anything big enough to check:) Here the 'front' jetway is connected to the FTX AI door 2, whereas it's meant to go to door 1, and the second jetway isn't designed to reach the rear doors... Oh well, either I need to purchase something heavy, or I'll just rely on my beta testers.

Image

It's funny how my brain works, I was thinking of having a SODE-operated cable crocodile, that yellow thing beyond the jetway head, which is pulled out to supply power to the big aircraft. I wanted to be able to add an entry to the SODE menu saying 'Release the Krakadile!', but I don't think I'll have any time to waste on that.

Still some work to do on these glass jetways, so this isn't the finished product.
User avatar
toprob
NZFF Pro
 
Topic author
Joined: Sat Apr 29, 2006 4:56 pm
Posts: 5772
Location: Diamond Harbour

Re: My desktop

Postby NZ255 » Fri Apr 26, 2019 5:14 pm

Looking very sharp!
Image
User avatar
NZ255
NZFF Pro
 
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2007 12:57 pm
Posts: 2406

Re: My desktop

Postby Splitpin » Sat Apr 27, 2019 9:33 am

Amazing :bow:
User avatar
Splitpin
NZFF Pro
 
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2009 12:15 pm
Posts: 16576
Location: Christchurch NZ

Re: My desktop

Postby toprob » Sat Apr 27, 2019 1:55 pm

Thanks, guys.
I am getting very sick of this gate, I was up past midnight last night, and back into it this morning, and I'm just quit and opened a bottle of wine for lunch...
The problem is that the gate is new, so it doesn't show up on the aerial image I use -- it appears on Google Earth 'historical imagery' looking at the more recent stuff, but it is all blurry. The photographer who covered airside for me has been a godsend, but he only took one shot of this gate, so it's hard to put everything into the proper place. I didn't know if it was a problem with my terminal model, the SODE jetway, the AFCAD, or the XML placement, so I've been tweaking everything.
Now I get bridge 2 to door 2 on the FTX AI 787, which is promising, but bridge 1 doesn't move. On the biggest thing I own -- the default fsx 737 moved to Prepar3d:) -- I can get both bridges to work separately via the GSX menu, and if I have bridge 2 extended, and call for deboarding, bridge 2 retracts and bridge 1 docks, which is brilliant, and looks great!
Anyone know where I can get a cheap A380? It would be great to have something better than the old teal 737 :angry:
User avatar
toprob
NZFF Pro
 
Topic author
Joined: Sat Apr 29, 2006 4:56 pm
Posts: 5772
Location: Diamond Harbour

Re: My desktop

Postby toprob » Sat Apr 27, 2019 3:31 pm

Ok, I dragged the default 747 from FSX, and it worked first time, both airbridges. I can finally relax for the weekend. Although I really want to finish this gate, there's plenty of fashion accessories to add... and I need to remove the operator's door, since there's no stairs on these bridges.

This isn't a desktop pic, but it does show that it is finally working:)

Image
User avatar
toprob
NZFF Pro
 
Topic author
Joined: Sat Apr 29, 2006 4:56 pm
Posts: 5772
Location: Diamond Harbour

Re: My desktop

Postby NZ255 » Sat Apr 27, 2019 5:15 pm

I bet the GSX v2 Sode jetways are tempting to use... but then that’s a big requirement.

I was going to suggest porting the FSX 747 in. Glad you thought of it. Check out the PA A380 for freeware. https://library.avsim.net/esearch.php?DLID=155711
Image
User avatar
NZ255
NZFF Pro
 
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2007 12:57 pm
Posts: 2406

PreviousNext

Return to Screenshots

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests