P3D v4

The place to ask for help or solve each others technical issues and discuss hardware

P3D v4

Postby Aviator 1 » Sun Oct 01, 2017 3:27 pm

If I decide to update to P3D v4 do I have to Uninstall P3D v2 and all of the add-ons ?
Last edited by Aviator 1 on Mon Oct 02, 2017 2:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Aviator 1
Forum Addict
 
Topic author
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 5:14 pm
Posts: 447

Re: P3D v4

Postby toprob » Sun Oct 01, 2017 3:58 pm

No, you can leave it as-is. All versions of Prepar3d are independent, and can co-exist. Although I wouldn't try running them all at once...
Image
User avatar
toprob
NZFF Pro
 
Joined: Sat Apr 29, 2006 4:56 pm
Posts: 5150
Location: Diamond Harbour

Re: P3D v4

Postby Aviator 1 » Sun Oct 01, 2017 5:43 pm

Thanks for the reply, do all the add-ons like scenery just work when you install V4 ?
Aviator 1
Forum Addict
 
Topic author
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 5:14 pm
Posts: 447

Re: P3D v4

Postby toprob » Sun Oct 01, 2017 6:35 pm

Well, no, that's where it gets a bit messy.
You will need to reinstall most addons, provided they actually have compatible installers. There is the 'new' method of installing addons, via add-on.xml, but P3D v2 didn't support it, so it might only work going from v3 to v4. I'm talking about scenery only, as other addons will almost certainly require some changes.
Image
User avatar
toprob
NZFF Pro
 
Joined: Sat Apr 29, 2006 4:56 pm
Posts: 5150
Location: Diamond Harbour

Re: P3D v4

Postby Aviator 1 » Mon Oct 02, 2017 2:39 pm

Dam that sounds like a real pain. I had a big problem with My Orbix north and South when I installed it to P3d and to have to do it all again for V4. Is it worth the upgrade to V4 at the moment
I am really leaning towards trying Xplane 11.
Aviator 1
Forum Addict
 
Topic author
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 5:14 pm
Posts: 447

Re: P3D v4

Postby toprob » Mon Oct 02, 2017 3:12 pm

Well, with Orbx there's always FTX Central, which does all the work for you -- albeit with a lot of redownloading. So once you've installed Prepar3d v4, you just fire up FTX Central, select P3Dv4, and tell it what to install.
I do think that v4 is a huge improvement over v2. However X-plane 11 is also a 'mature' sim, with a lot positives. I use them both.
Image
User avatar
toprob
NZFF Pro
 
Joined: Sat Apr 29, 2006 4:56 pm
Posts: 5150
Location: Diamond Harbour

Re: P3D v4

Postby Aviator 1 » Mon Oct 02, 2017 4:40 pm

Thanks for your help I will have to give it ago. I am pretty keen to use V4 and Xplane as well.

BTW I really enjoyed Godzone in my Fs 2004 and FSX but since changing to P3D I did not know if you had covered the full New Zealand scenery or not ?
That is why I went to Orbix.

I am VFR in real world training and use it for the land marks. But I have found since I changed to Orbix its land mass is not right in places.
Aviator 1
Forum Addict
 
Topic author
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 5:14 pm
Posts: 447

Re: P3D v4

Postby Agent X20 » Tue Oct 03, 2017 3:46 pm

toprob wrote:Well, with Orbx there's always FTX Central, which does all the work for you -- albeit with a lot of redownloading. So once you've installed Prepar3d v4, you just fire up FTX Central, select P3Dv4, and tell it what to install.
I do think that v4 is a huge improvement over v2. However X-plane 11 is also a 'mature' sim, with a lot positives. I use them both.


FTX Central is smart enough to find your previous scenery installations and copy them into a new instance of P3D/FSX rather than redownloading everything.
Agent X20
Member
 
Joined: Thu Apr 30, 2015 9:34 am
Posts: 55

Re: P3D v4

Postby Aviator 1 » Tue Oct 03, 2017 4:34 pm

Agent X20 wrote:
toprob wrote:Well, with Orbx there's always FTX Central, which does all the work for you -- albeit with a lot of redownloading. So once you've installed Prepar3d v4, you just fire up FTX Central, select P3Dv4, and tell it what to install.
I do think that v4 is a huge improvement over v2. However X-plane 11 is also a 'mature' sim, with a lot positives. I use them both.


FTX Central is smart enough to find your previous scenery installations and copy them into a new instance of P3D/FSX rather than redownloading everything.



Thanks Agent X I will certainly use it when I upgrade.
Aviator 1
Forum Addict
 
Topic author
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 5:14 pm
Posts: 447

Re: P3D v4

Postby whitei » Sat Oct 07, 2017 9:54 am

Morning All,

Is there much difference between v3 and v4 of P3D? I have been tossing up as to get it or not or just wait till V5 (picking there will be one).

Cheers

Ian
whitei
Member
 
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 12:51 pm
Posts: 46
Location: Lincoln

Re: P3D v4

Postby toprob » Sat Oct 07, 2017 10:24 am

Well, I must admit that if I didn't need to have both, I'd have thought long and hard about upgrading, doing just alternate releases is not a bad idea. And at the moment, I'm still waiting on FTX AI for NZ, so my airports are a bit bare...
If you have a current system which works for you, then there may not be a big reason to upgrade.
On the other hand, at some point developers might stop worrying about 32bit sims, some scenery developers have already announced that their future releases will be x64 only. As a developer, I can certainly see the attraction. (I've already dropped development for P3D v2, but I don't have plans to quit FSX yet.)
Personally, I tend to look at it from one angle only, how the scenery looks, and v4 brings it to another level. It can also fix OOM issues, if you have that problem. And it is being actively improved, with 4.1 coming soon.
Image
User avatar
toprob
NZFF Pro
 
Joined: Sat Apr 29, 2006 4:56 pm
Posts: 5150
Location: Diamond Harbour

Re: P3D v4

Postby whitei » Sat Oct 07, 2017 12:44 pm

Thanks Rob,

Forgot that its a 64 bit program, might grab it and skip the next release be interesting to see what the differences maybe with running the 64 program on my PC.

Cheers

Ian
whitei
Member
 
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 12:51 pm
Posts: 46
Location: Lincoln

Re: P3D v4

Postby cowpatz » Mon Oct 09, 2017 9:52 am

If you are going to upgrade to P3DV4 then wait at least until after 10 Oct (US) before downloading. That way you will get V4.1 and not have to redownload the upgrade client etc.
In fact a wise man would wait a few days to check out the forums and see if there are any show stopper bugs that need patching.
I presume Pete Dowson is away on holiday this week? :)
User avatar
cowpatz
NZFF Pro
 
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2007 3:28 pm
Posts: 2350

Re: P3D v4

Postby scaber » Mon Oct 09, 2017 12:02 pm

cowpatz wrote:If you are going to upgrade to P3DV4 then wait at least until after 10 Oct (US)
...
I presume Pete Dowson is away on holiday this week? :)


LOL - I would guess so :lol:
User avatar
scaber
Senior Member
 
Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2010 9:51 am
Posts: 1359
Location: Christchurch

Re: P3D v4

Postby Aviator 1 » Mon Oct 09, 2017 2:11 pm

Lucky I saw this post as I was not to far away from getting V4 :cheers:
Aviator 1
Forum Addict
 
Topic author
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 5:14 pm
Posts: 447


Return to Technical Issues

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests