Page 1 of 1

Making terrain?

PostPosted: Fri Oct 02, 2015 5:10 pm
by J7G
Hi guys,

I'd like to learn how to make terrain for DCS with a view to eventually building up an entire map. I'm looking to start learning 3d modelling (with Blender for a start but it looks like I'd have to move onto 3dmax for DCS) but is there anything else I'd need to learn? I know there are some experienced guys around here with scenery and terrain and whatnot so I was wondering if anyone had any tips?

Cheers,

J7G

Re: Making terrain?

PostPosted: Fri Oct 02, 2015 6:19 pm
by Ian Warren
Hi Rhys , still yet to d/load and install DCS

Re: Making terrain?

PostPosted: Fri Oct 02, 2015 7:20 pm
by NZ255
Not sure where the DCS devs reside but it's not here :D
Not sure, sorry

Re: Making terrain?

PostPosted: Fri Oct 02, 2015 7:32 pm
by emfrat
Rhys, toprob pointed me to a freebie tool called Terrain Sculptor, which I haven't started to learn yet. I use FSX, and know next to nothing about DCS, but reading the Terrain Sculptor website, it lets you tamper with any terrain file which is ASCII-coded. You would need to look at DCS to find out what they use.. Since it is a freebie, you lose nothing by giving it a try.
http://terraincartography.com/terrainsculptor/

Cheers
MikeW

Re: Making terrain?

PostPosted: Fri Oct 02, 2015 7:38 pm
by Ian Warren
NZ255 wrote:Not sure where the DCS devs reside but it's not here :D

This would be something seriously to look into , take off from Ohakea , fly into Waiouru weapons range or further would be brilliant.

Re: Making terrain?

PostPosted: Sun Oct 04, 2015 12:59 am
by J7G
emfrat wrote:Rhys, toprob pointed me to a freebie tool called Terrain Sculptor, which I haven't started to learn yet. I use FSX, and know next to nothing about DCS, but reading the Terrain Sculptor website, it lets you tamper with any terrain file which is ASCII-coded. You would need to look at DCS to find out what they use.. Since it is a freebie, you lose nothing by giving it a try.
http://terraincartography.com/terrainsculptor/

Cheers
MikeW


Thanks very much for the link. As I understood it- and I may be dead wrong :D - all maps, regardless of sim are made in a 3d modeller first, then imported using the SDK of that sim. I will have a look at that link though! Thanks very much for it.

Re: Making terrain?

PostPosted: Sun Oct 04, 2015 8:57 am
by toprob
From a quick look around, your description of the process does look accurate. But although I've made a lot of scenery in my time, including terrain, I've never modelled terrain in a 3D modeller, as FSX and variants don't work that way. Well, they can, but generally the process is different. The only 3D modelling I do is airport models etc. So I don't think you'd get much help here, where it's pretty much all FSX-related.

Mike -- if I ever directed you to a tool called Terrain Sculptor, then it was probably Don's little FSDeveloper.com tool which is used to blend an airport into the surrounding terrain.

Re: Making terrain?

PostPosted: Sun Oct 04, 2015 9:40 am
by emfrat
toprob wrote:From a quick look around, your description of the process does look accurate. But although I've made a lot of scenery in my time, including terrain, I've never modelled terrain in a 3D modeller, as FSX and variants don't work that way. Well, they can, but generally the process is different. The only 3D modelling I do is airport models etc. So I don't think you'd get much help here, where it's pretty much all FSX-related.

Mike -- if I ever directed you to a tool called Terrain Sculptor, then it was probably Don's little FSDeveloper.com tool which is used to blend an airport into the surrounding terrain.


Cheers, Rob - it was here: viewtopic.php?f=2&t=24549#p8372676
So I Googled Terrain Sculptor and found the one I linked to in this thread :lol:
Never thought of looking in the FSDeveloper stuff :wub:

Re: Making terrain?

PostPosted: Sun Oct 04, 2015 11:06 am
by Ian Warren
Well finally d/loaded DCS , not bad 10GB in 32 minutes !

Re: Making terrain?

PostPosted: Sun Oct 04, 2015 11:15 am
by toprob
emfrat wrote:
Cheers, Rob - it was here: viewtopic.php?f=2&t=24549#p8372676
So I Googled Terrain Sculptor and found the one I linked to in this thread :lol:
Never thought of looking in the FSDeveloper stuff :wub:


This probably says more about my own blinkered view of things, I don't get out much beyond FSDeveloper.com... Apparently there is a big wide world out there on the web, and maybe Don should've been a bit more careful naming his little program.

Re: Making terrain?

PostPosted: Mon Oct 05, 2015 1:14 am
by J7G
OK guys, thanks for the replies. Back to the ol' drawing board then.

Re: Making terrain?

PostPosted: Sat Jul 16, 2016 5:57 pm
by Ian Warren
That was a very much closed item now, have you tried FS simply for starters ? ..... I started before SDKs and photo material but is a good backing but you are required to do the work.