64-bit is certainly a bit of a marketing buzz-word for the flight sim community

A forum specifically to discuss the latest and greatest of all flight simulators

64-bit is certainly a bit of a marketing buzz-word for the flight sim community

Postby Radar88 » Tue May 23, 2017 8:50 pm

FYI

64-bit is certainly a bit of a marketing buzz-word for the flight sim community right now.

But what is 64-bit and why does the flight sim community care so much?

If your interested in setting your expectations for 64-bit and the upcoming Prepar3D V4 release.

Would recommend you read the following link to the FSElite article which explains that a 64-bit program won’t improve the frame rate or stuttering of an application.

https://fselite.net/editorials/setting- ... version-4/
Radar88
Member
 
Topic author
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2015 2:32 pm
Posts: 57

Re: 64-bit is certainly a bit of a marketing buzz-word for the flight sim community

Postby Charl » Tue May 23, 2017 9:30 pm

Well yes...
A 64 bit processor running a 64 bit application on a 64 bit OS will get the full benefit.
Anything not 100% "64" will not.
You can't paste a patch on a 32 bit application and hope to get a result.

Consider this:
32 bits has a data "width" of 4,294,967,296 bits
64 bits has a data "width" of 18,446,744,073,709,551,616 bits

Something like AFS2 is 64 bit. It doesn't notice data, much.
You don't think about framerates.
Or OOM.
Or VAS, or any of those other ugly 3-letter words.

I am not peddling this particular software, it is in its infancy and may never mature as a sim.
But inescapably, the nextgen sim must be fully 64 bit.
User avatar
Charl
NZFF Pro
 
Joined: Mon May 01, 2006 8:28 am
Posts: 7145
Location: Auckland

Re: 64-bit is certainly a bit of a marketing buzz-word for the flight sim community

Postby Riddlez » Wed May 24, 2017 6:14 pm

It does make a difference.

Now it means I can add a HELL OF A LOT of detail to my airports and not worry about memory issues like the previous sims do. Prepar3D and the FSX gaming engine is VERY inefficient when it comes to graphics/performance. Hell, FSX is 11 years old and it's only been very recently I can move the display settings up to full! When you compare it to the likes of Gran Theft Auto V which has WAY more beautiful graphics but maintains a nice smooth framerate. The Prepar3D gaming engine versus the GTA V engine is like a dirty old gas-guzzling V8 versus a efficient electric car. The 64bit will enable more detail in the scene before any out OOM issues affect the game play. To be honest Prepar3D should completely overhaul their gaming engine and come up with a new one, but there are SO MANY addons that would have to be upgraded to suit. This would affect business way too much for Lockheed Martin and it's easier (and financially the right choice) to just upgrade the existing Sim.
Riddlez
Member
 
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 2:01 am
Posts: 130
Location: The Naki

Re: 64-bit is certainly a bit of a marketing buzz-word for the flight sim community

Postby cowpatz » Thu May 25, 2017 8:04 pm

Yes but dont forget you may not necessarily have OOM errors but FPS will still take a hit if you add extra detail as you propose.
As always the hardware is still lagging behind.
User avatar
cowpatz
NZFF Pro
 
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2007 3:28 pm
Posts: 2555


Return to All Flight Simulators

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests