X-Plane

A single forum dedicated to all other non Microsoft flight simulation games

Re: X-Plane

Postby wairoaboy » Mon Apr 13, 2015 3:42 pm

Think I just wasted $600 odd dollars upgrading RAM simply to get the most out of a X Plane 10 scenery enhancement....16GB was recomended minimum, but 32GB considered ideal....however it barely uses 14GB 2133 at anyone time overclocked at 4.6Ghz http://www.alpilotx.net/downloads/x-pla ... cenery-v1/
User avatar
wairoaboy
Member
 
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2009 11:28 pm
Posts: 115
Location: Rotorua/Wairoa

Re: X-Plane

Postby Ian Warren » Mon Apr 13, 2015 4:09 pm

Sometime you really have to watch what people recommendations are and not been led up th garden path, RAM is ideal when doing art/graphics with swap filing and blending so that's a BUGGER!
Image
User avatar
Ian Warren
NZFF Pro
 
Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 5:23 pm
Posts: 41205
Location: AREA 51

Re: X-Plane

Postby toprob » Mon Apr 13, 2015 5:15 pm

Wow, some names from the past in this old thread -- where are all these members now?
Image
User avatar
toprob
NZFF Pro
 
Joined: Sat Apr 29, 2006 4:56 pm
Posts: 5258
Location: Diamond Harbour

Re: X-Plane

Postby Ian Warren » Mon Apr 13, 2015 5:24 pm

toprob wrote:Wow, -- where are all these members now?

I know one has a good excuse flying in around the warm tropical climate of Borneo, think the rest just X-ited or got married.
Image
User avatar
Ian Warren
NZFF Pro
 
Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 5:23 pm
Posts: 41205
Location: AREA 51

Re: X-Plane

Postby omitchell » Thu Apr 16, 2015 2:01 am

Ian Warren wrote:Sometime you really have to watch what people recommendations are and not been led up th garden path, RAM is ideal when doing art/graphics with swap filing and blending so that's a BUGGER!


Indeed. It shouldn't be chomping the majority of your RAM, your graphics card should be chewing most of that process for anything graphics based. 16Gb at 1866mhz is plenty sufficient, 32Gb at the same is overkill. Running 32Gb at 2133 is def overkill.

As Ian says you need to watch out for peoples so called recommendations because simply some people will just recommend you get the most possible to do the job, simply because they think you have to have the most to do the job (Which is frankly ignorance or arrogance, take your pick on which). If a product says 16Gb then it is 16Gb. One thing to remember with producers (Esp payware) is if they say 16Gb and it is really 32Gb, then frankly it's financial suicide because once word gets around about the false info sales drop through the floor like a donkey with the plague. They came up with the figures through testing.

Don't get me wrong, I love overkill. My current rig I am in the process of fine turning before switching over to as my main rig is loaded with 3x GTX980's in SLI with a Titan-Z backing them up (so much overkill, so little time and it's last benchmark test was off the chain) but the point is most people will recommend overkill when it's just not needed at all..
Image
Founder and Former CEO of VANZ

"You land a million planes safely, then you have one little mid-air
and you never hear the end of it."
Air Traffic Controller, New York TRACON
Westbury, L.I
User avatar
omitchell
Senior Member
 
Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 1:27 pm
Posts: 1960
Location: Auckland

Re: X-Plane

Postby wairoaboy » Thu May 07, 2015 9:49 pm

toprob wrote:Wow, some names from the past in this old thread -- where are all these members now?


I been licking my 32GB RAM wounds Lol
User avatar
wairoaboy
Member
 
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2009 11:28 pm
Posts: 115
Location: Rotorua/Wairoa

Re: X-Plane

Postby Ian Warren » Thu May 07, 2015 11:05 pm

wairoaboy wrote:
toprob wrote:Wow, some names from the past in this old thread -- where are all these members now?


I been licking my 32GB RAM wounds Lol

Most simply get younger and move on .. or the other way , its the transition stage.
Image
User avatar
Ian Warren
NZFF Pro
 
Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 5:23 pm
Posts: 41205
Location: AREA 51

Re: X-Plane

Postby buzzard2008 » Tue Oct 04, 2016 6:18 am

I downloaded xplane the other day and can't get my plane to lift off the ground, it says the up and down arrows are for down and up (opposite I mean)but these don't work no matter which way around they are, all they do when your cruising down the runway is scroll up and down the cockpit, I read in a post that the developer has removed the ability to use keyboard commands is this true?, if so, I think that sucks!, I'm not going out and buying a joystick, so yeah if I can't take off there's no point in having it, will probably just go back to FSX after my system upgrade. It's a shame cause I wanted to try out Ortho4xp for scenery
buzzard2008
Member
 
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2014 10:46 am
Posts: 111

Re: X-Plane

Postby Ian Warren » Tue Oct 04, 2016 6:52 am

Gawd , I thought everyone moved away from keyboard flying in the 80's , these days you can get very cheap joysticks that would do the job for you (simply plug and play) and away you go :)
Image
User avatar
Ian Warren
NZFF Pro
 
Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 5:23 pm
Posts: 41205
Location: AREA 51

Re: X-Plane

Postby buzzard2008 » Tue Oct 04, 2016 1:16 pm

Cheers Ian, lol yeah I know, I actually haven't had a joystick since I started Simmons 5 years ago, most of the ones I've looked at are really expensive
buzzard2008
Member
 
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2014 10:46 am
Posts: 111

Re: X-Plane

Postby Ian Warren » Tue Oct 04, 2016 1:40 pm

Here is one they may suit you for example, http://www.trademe.co.nz/gaming/joystic ... 014932.htm Only $29NZ
I'm sure others here may have better links or connections .
Image
User avatar
Ian Warren
NZFF Pro
 
Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 5:23 pm
Posts: 41205
Location: AREA 51

Re: X-Plane

Postby buzzard2008 » Wed Oct 05, 2016 6:04 am

Gee thanks Ian I didn't think they came that cheap! So I'm assuming that considering some of them are 500 or more, this is good enough to get me started, I mean to say fly a king air with?
buzzard2008
Member
 
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2014 10:46 am
Posts: 111

Re: X-Plane

Postby Ian Warren » Wed Oct 05, 2016 8:08 am

Yeah you can pay big dollars, but for you that will suit right to the ground after taking off ... in your King Air :)
Image
User avatar
Ian Warren
NZFF Pro
 
Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 5:23 pm
Posts: 41205
Location: AREA 51

Re: X-Plane

Postby buzzard2008 » Wed Oct 05, 2016 5:53 pm

Cheers Ian I'm onto it!
buzzard2008
Member
 
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2014 10:46 am
Posts: 111

Re: X-Plane

Postby Ian Warren » Wed Oct 05, 2016 6:14 pm

buzzard2008 wrote:Cheers Ian I'm onto it!

I think once you see the simple options, hat key on top for views, a few buttons for flap and gear .. I really grew away from Joysticks because everything was designed for the right hander , funny thing, every time one pops around here, they get lost with the with mice all being sitting left sided so course with me the Yoke was the best fix and course had to add (make you jealous) the rudder pedals and throttle quad ... but after many many years in the game I'm aloud to.... I'm very sure you will say .... "Were ya been all my life"
Image
User avatar
Ian Warren
NZFF Pro
 
Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 5:23 pm
Posts: 41205
Location: AREA 51

Re: X-Plane

Postby buzzard2008 » Thu Oct 06, 2016 8:18 am

Haha, not quite ready for pedals and yokes but yeah, time to up my game/simulator lol, just waiting to pick up my upgraded OS then she's all on
buzzard2008
Member
 
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2014 10:46 am
Posts: 111

Re: X-Plane

Postby Ian Warren » Thu Oct 06, 2016 8:30 am

buzzard2008 wrote:Haha, not quite ready for pedals and yokes but yeah, time to up my game/simulator lol, just waiting to pick up my upgraded OS then she's all on

It dose look a great buy for $29 , I'm sure its going to change your game play B-)
Image
User avatar
Ian Warren
NZFF Pro
 
Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 5:23 pm
Posts: 41205
Location: AREA 51

Previous

Return to Other Flight Simulator Games

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests