Newbie question... is my laptop sufficient to run a FS

A place to converse about the general aspects of flight simulation in New Zealand

Newbie question... is my laptop sufficient to run a FS

Postby Johnnynz » Sat Jun 27, 2020 4:29 pm

Hey guys and gals :)
I'm sorry if you get these sorts of questions all the time but... I would love some advice and to hear your thoughts as I am a complete and utter rookie when it comes to computer tec.
I am a RAANZ pilot who just wants to fly more for less, and looking to flight simulators to see if that will help scratch the itch, as well as getting to fly into some strips I haven't yet flown.
The laptop I have is a HP with windows 10, intel core i5-2450m, cpu @2.50ghz, 2501 mhz, 2 core, 4 logical processors, 8G Ram. And my wife has a DELL laptop with windows 10 pro, intel core i7-7500U CPU @ 2.7GHz, 2901mhz, 2 core, 4 processors, 8GB RAM.
As the wife works from home she has it paired to a much larger screen I was hoping to use.
Apologies if that is all irrelevant info.

So my question is... would either of these laptops be able to run a flight sim effectively/realistically or am I trying to run a Pratt & Whitney PT6 in a Bantam?
If so what sim would be best and because most of my flying is in tecnams and RV I would need to purchase a stick so I welcome any pointers there too.
All responses will be much appreciated!
Thanks Johnny
Johnnynz

Topic author

Re: Newbie question... is my laptop sufficient to run a FS

Postby chopper_nut » Sat Jun 27, 2020 9:48 pm

Hi Johnny, welcome
Your limiting factor with both of those machines is processing speed. You aren't going to be able to run VR on them but all sims except maybe the new Microsoft one will physically run. What graphics cards do they have? I'm running a gaming laptop that only has an i7 2.2ghz and I can run XP11, DCS, P3d all reasonably well.
chopper_nut
NZFF Pro

Postby Johnnynz » Sat Jun 27, 2020 10:40 pm

Thanks for the reply! Much appreciated.